Don Biddle Friend of Geography Award


The Don Biddle Friend of Geography Award is named in honour of the founding president of AGTA, Dr Don Biddle. The Award is made by the AGTA Board based on the recommendation of a selection committee comprising three members of the Board. A currently serving member of the AGTA Board is not eligible to receive the award.

The award has been developed by AGTA to recognise individuals, groups or institutions who have made a significant contribution over an extended period of time to the work of AGTA in promoting geographical education in Australia.


2019: Presented at the AGTA 2017 Conference in Melbourne to Dr Greg Calvert and Rebecca Nicholas— Citations

2017: Presented at the AGTA 2017 Conference in Melbourne to Leonie Brown, Malcolm McInerney and Gregory Way — Citations

2015: Presented at the AGTA 2015 Conference in Rotorua to Rob Berry, Nick Hutchinson, Dr Jeana Kriewaldt and Emmy Terry and posthumously at the AGTA Board meeting in Hobart to Wayne Sutton — Citations

2013: Presented at the AGTA 2013 Conference in Perth to Dr Susan Bliss, John Butler, Stephen Cranby and Alaric Maude — Citations

2011: Presented at the AGTA 2011 Conference in Adelaide to Kath Berg, Mark Manuel and Roger Smith

About Dr Don Biddle

Background material about Dr Don Biddle's contributions to geographical education are included in a speech given by Dr Stephen Codrington at the annual Awards Night of the Geographical Society of New South Wales when a Life Membership award was presented to Dr Don Biddle.